Day 29: Sad Trip Home

We woke early on June 14th to a beautiful sunrise over the airport and the sad realization that our time in Poland had come to an end.  


Although my flight left later than the rest of the groups’, I took the taxis to the airport with them and waited to check in for my flight. I got to say my goodbyes to Dr. Moore, my new great friends, and of course my girlfriend, Meredith. Almost all of us were strangers before the trip, but had become incredible friends over this once in a lifetime opportunity.

I reminisced over the exciting month during my entire travel day.  My flight from Warsaw took me to Germany where I had a few hours to kill.  I ordered a German beer and lunch and spent a fair amount of time simply finding my gate in the massive airport.  


From Germany I flew back to Baltimore, where my Dad met me in the airport. It was so strange being back in U.S. and no longer being the foreign outsider.  All I could think about was going back, and I still hope to return one day. The rich culture of Poland grabbed me, and I’ll never forget it.  

Leave a Reply

